|||

Let’s Bake a Cake

Let’s bake a cake. We’ll be a little bit more specific and make it a basic chocolate one.

Out of the five recipes I look up, one uses just over a 1/2 cup of flour, one uses 1 1/2 cups of flour, two use 2 cups of flour, and one has 3 1/4 cups of flour.

Chocolate: One uses melted, unsweetened, and four use cocoa in varying amounts.

Eggs: One uses 2, two use 3, and two use none. One uses sour cream and one uses aged balsamic vinegar.

Even if two cook used all the same items, they still end up with a different tasting cake. The heat of the oven or the difference each cook sticks to the recipe affects the outcome.

Story structure is a lot like a recipe. You may be baking with the same ingredients but it all comes out a little different. It all depends on the cook.

But I am hoping you already figured this out and beat me to the punch-line on this comparison because before I wrote this, I realized how obvious I was being.

If you already know that everyone will bring something different to story, but you still fear that using structure makes only bland stories, then it is time to quit listening to your fears.

You already know what you have to do to get writing, so do it.

Up next Today (part 2) Start with one page. If you you want to write, then write. Quit lying to yourself. The reason you tell yourself you can’t write is an excuse. Cut The Creative Habit I just finished Twyla Tharp’s book The Creative Habit where I found this: “Being blocked is most often a failure of nerve, with only one solution:
Latest posts Dealing with the Jealousy Alarm Why the new stories lately? Mud Pot “What the hell is going on?” 24/ Where I’ve been Creation, not consumption Getting Older and Slower Coming back to work 23/ Stretched thin and moving forward The Rule of Threes, Conflict, and Starting Your Story 22/ Blogging is my Hobby More than One Want Old Posts Why is this particular character on this journey? Breaking the Website, Breaking the Book Story Maps You’ll get through it 100 Attempts My March Challenge Becoming a Streamer Make your story (and marketing) rhyme What I want to do around here On Canoeing Reader Error The Continuum of Long Term Listen for the music Imposter Syndrome 21/ Tiny Notes Notes on “The Calculus of Grit” Tea Time Log Jams and the Creativity Faucet