|||

Why is this particular character on this journey?

A story is unique to your protagonist. There is a unique journey—a reason why you, the master of the universe here, has put this character on this path. There is something in that character that you have chosen to do this particular plot in order to bring out something in them. And so if I can put another character in and it works just as well, that’s not a situation, that’s not testing anything specific to the character. It’s just an arbitrary situation you’ve put a character, put someone, into.”

Jill Chamberlain, script consultant and teacher, speaking with Film Courage.

Up next Breaking the Website, Breaking the Book I’ve spent a lot of time the past few days fixing the website. It all started a few weeks ago when I decided to try a new email provider. The one I Old Posts Something I’ve been wanting to do lately is bringing back some of my posts from old blogs. Long ago, I had a Tumblr, and then a Scriptogram (which
Latest posts Dealing with the Jealousy Alarm Why the new stories lately? Mud Pot “What the hell is going on?” 24/ Where I’ve been Creation, not consumption Getting Older and Slower Coming back to work 23/ Stretched thin and moving forward The Rule of Threes, Conflict, and Starting Your Story 22/ Blogging is my Hobby More than One Want Old Posts Why is this particular character on this journey? Breaking the Website, Breaking the Book Story Maps You’ll get through it 100 Attempts My March Challenge Becoming a Streamer Make your story (and marketing) rhyme What I want to do around here On Canoeing Reader Error The Continuum of Long Term Listen for the music Imposter Syndrome 21/ Tiny Notes Notes on “The Calculus of Grit” Tea Time Log Jams and the Creativity Faucet