|||

What the hell is going on?”

We only have a few seconds to get done and out of here.

What do you mean?”

The story ends in four hundred words and that’s it.”

Shit. So is that why you aren’t using punctuation?”

No, that’s because I am an asshole.

So what are you going to do? How are you going to get to the end? I am not sure but we have an eighth of it complete already.”

Is there anything that can be done to extend this?

Nope. We have only this amount of time to live a full life.

Shit.

Yup. We are now at the quarter point.”

Then I feel we should make the most of it.

How so?”

Embrace each other. Celebrate our time together.”

No. What if we push back and fight?”

But our ending is inevitable.

What if we convinced the writer that we were worth more than that though?“

Maybe, but we’ve already wasted almost half of our lifetime together.

And then it is done?”

And then it is done.”

I want to fight.”

No, spend time with me.”

We can spend time together as we fight.”

Or we can enjoy the moment. Watch a sunset, go for a hike up a mountain.”

Quit wasting our words with such nonsense. Those things take description, imagery. And then they’re gone and lost and we have nothing left. There has to be more. There has to be something.

Nothing that I know of. Nothing that can be seen or embraced or taken a part from the rest.”

Why must four hundred words be the limit of our time? Why must that be the end?”

Every question you ask either takes time away from us being together or from fighting.

You haven’t even tried to stop him.”

Who?” The author?”

How do we do that?”

Plead with him. Ask him to consider his choices. To consider letting us live longer. To allow us to live in a sequel or other story.

And if he did? If he allowed it?

Then we could live on, immortal. Serialized.”

Is that a possibility?”

We may not know. We may never know until it has happened.”

So we must go on faith.”

Yes, I guess.”

We only have a few words left, so I want to say good bye.”

Good bye to you as well.”

It was good to know you…”

Up next 24/ Where I’ve been Drawing by Anna Gane, based on photo by Ethan Sykes. Hi there, This is my first newsletter in over six weeks, so I thought I’d keep it light. Here Mud Pot The mud puddle had appeared by the crab apple orchard in the morning, right before the farmer had gone to church. By the time he’d returned, it was
Latest posts Dealing with the Jealousy Alarm Why the new stories lately? Mud Pot “What the hell is going on?” 24/ Where I’ve been Creation, not consumption Getting Older and Slower Coming back to work 23/ Stretched thin and moving forward The Rule of Threes, Conflict, and Starting Your Story 22/ Blogging is my Hobby More than One Want Old Posts Why is this particular character on this journey? Breaking the Website, Breaking the Book Story Maps You’ll get through it 100 Attempts My March Challenge Becoming a Streamer Make your story (and marketing) rhyme What I want to do around here On Canoeing Reader Error The Continuum of Long Term Listen for the music Imposter Syndrome 21/ Tiny Notes Notes on “The Calculus of Grit” Tea Time Log Jams and the Creativity Faucet