|||

Log Jams and the Creativity Faucet

Photo by [Kamala Saraswathi] Photo by Kamala Saraswathi

Nearly 20 years ago, when I first got past my fear and started writing again, I had nearly 15 years of ideas piled up inside.

Yet, I quickly realized they weren’t good. They were half-baked and stale and none of them made interesting stories.

I imagined they were like a log jam and I needed to clear out each one in order to get to the good stuff. Of course, the good stuff were new and unknown and everyday I’d show up not knowing what would happen.

But one I got past my fear of failing, of making a mess, of being embarrassed, I embraced the excitement of discovering these new stories.

I bring all this up because I was reminded of that feeling when I read Julian Shapiro’s Creativity Faucet:

Visualize your creativity as a backed-up pipe of water. The first mile of piping is packed with wastewater. This wastewater must be emptied before the clear water arrives.

You need to clear out the bad ideas to get to the good stuff, and for me, all those stagnant ones had jammed up the entire pipe. The only way was for me to do the work of digging them out, putting them on the page—and here’s the critical part—moving on.

The good stuff is unknown and lies behind the block.

Up next Thoughts on edits after the fact I’ve gone back and made corrections on this blog after I’ve posted. I do it all the time. I realize the phrasing is wrong or incorrect or a sentence Tea Time Early on, while writing our first novel, the parents of our teenage hero had to sit him down and have a serious heart-to-heart. This was a scene
Latest posts Dealing with the Jealousy Alarm Why the new stories lately? Mud Pot “What the hell is going on?” 24/ Where I’ve been Creation, not consumption Getting Older and Slower Coming back to work 23/ Stretched thin and moving forward The Rule of Threes, Conflict, and Starting Your Story 22/ Blogging is my Hobby More than One Want Old Posts Why is this particular character on this journey? Breaking the Website, Breaking the Book Story Maps You’ll get through it 100 Attempts My March Challenge Becoming a Streamer Make your story (and marketing) rhyme What I want to do around here On Canoeing Reader Error The Continuum of Long Term Listen for the music Imposter Syndrome 21/ Tiny Notes Notes on “The Calculus of Grit” Tea Time Log Jams and the Creativity Faucet