|||

100 Attempts

People who try writing their first novel often complain how hard it is. Just because you write regularly, doesn’t make it any easier to write fiction.

Watch this video of a freestyle mountain bike rider learning a new trick. He’s a pro at what he does, but he has to go through the steps, the mind games, and the practice to be able to do it.

I did not think this was going to take in the hundreds of attempts. It’s worked in my head since day one. I’ve been thinking about this trick for two years, but the process to try it, changing things. It’s a game of inches.

To me, that really describes the process of writing a story.

Update: I really like how Kottke writes out the process even more thoroughly.

Up next My March Challenge At the end of March (all depending on when we finish the next Counios & Gane book), I’m doing a year-long challenge: to write a new project each You’ll get through it For a long time I’ve said that writer’s block is BS. It is simply fear and uncertainty and not some impenetrable barrier that can’t be breached. But
Latest posts Dealing with the Jealousy Alarm Why the new stories lately? Mud Pot “What the hell is going on?” 24/ Where I’ve been Creation, not consumption Getting Older and Slower Coming back to work 23/ Stretched thin and moving forward The Rule of Threes, Conflict, and Starting Your Story 22/ Blogging is my Hobby More than One Want Old Posts Why is this particular character on this journey? Breaking the Website, Breaking the Book Story Maps You’ll get through it 100 Attempts My March Challenge Becoming a Streamer Make your story (and marketing) rhyme What I want to do around here On Canoeing Reader Error The Continuum of Long Term Listen for the music Imposter Syndrome 21/ Tiny Notes Notes on “The Calculus of Grit” Tea Time Log Jams and the Creativity Faucet