|||

On Canoeing

Photo by Dave Chambers on UnsplashPhoto by Dave Chambers on Unsplash

When you are in a canoe, the only way you’re going to get anywhere is through paddling.

But how do you paddle? If you want to go somewhere, you’re always course-correcting.

Did you want to head for that pine tree? Then you may have to paddle on the right, and then the left, and then the right again. You may have to fight the wind and waves occasionally. Sometimes you may even have to rest.

Also, you can’t go everywhere. There’s only so much time in the day. Pick one place and go there.

But if you keep at it—even if you are pushed backwards sometimes—eventually the conditions might change, and you can get back on track.

What if the conditions never change? Do you find another path? Sure, it might take longer, but if you get to your destination, isn’t it worth it?

But what if all the external forces are working against you? The wind is too strong, the waves too high, and some asshole in a speedboat keeps driving at your boat?

Do you need a new destination? Do you give up? Or do you not even canoe? Maybe walking is the way to go?

Or is it about the destination? Maybe it’s just about canoeing and nothing else matters.

It’s up to you.

Up next Reader Error Early on when I was writing fiction, I never wanted to write to on-the-nose. I wanted to be subtle and not explain my point to the reader. When What I want to do around here Right now, I am working with Angie on Book 4 of our Shepherd & Wolfe series. Since early last year, I’ve been wanting to do some writing of my own,
Latest posts Dealing with the Jealousy Alarm Why the new stories lately? Mud Pot “What the hell is going on?” 24/ Where I’ve been Creation, not consumption Getting Older and Slower Coming back to work 23/ Stretched thin and moving forward The Rule of Threes, Conflict, and Starting Your Story 22/ Blogging is my Hobby More than One Want Old Posts Why is this particular character on this journey? Breaking the Website, Breaking the Book Story Maps You’ll get through it 100 Attempts My March Challenge Becoming a Streamer Make your story (and marketing) rhyme What I want to do around here On Canoeing Reader Error The Continuum of Long Term Listen for the music Imposter Syndrome 21/ Tiny Notes Notes on “The Calculus of Grit” Tea Time Log Jams and the Creativity Faucet