|||

There is no simpler way for me to tell you this: If you want to write, you can do it. It’s up to you.

I hear a lot of reasons why people don’t write. They always sound good but they have to be because they aren’t for me. They are for the people giving me the excuse. I know because I used a lot of them before I started writing again.

It took time and energy to lie to myself and others why I wasn’t writing. If I was working back then at the pace I am now, I could have completed at least 90 drafts, I could have been past my 10,000 mistakes and my 10,000 hours of practise. I regret now that time I wasted.

Now, it is your time to choose but remember it has nothing to do about time, or money, or skill, or talent, or the right writing tools, or a place to write.

It is about you making the choice to begin.

Up next Breaking the Story Here are two resources to break your story and get writing: Blake Snyder’s 15 Point Beat Sheet Pilar Alessandra’s On the Page Another one is to map Quit Making Excuses Which of these would you rather be? The person who has a “Great Idea” and tells everyone about it and says that one day he is going to write it. or
Latest posts Dealing with the Jealousy Alarm Why the new stories lately? Mud Pot “What the hell is going on?” 24/ Where I’ve been Creation, not consumption Getting Older and Slower Coming back to work 23/ Stretched thin and moving forward The Rule of Threes, Conflict, and Starting Your Story 22/ Blogging is my Hobby More than One Want Old Posts Why is this particular character on this journey? Breaking the Website, Breaking the Book Story Maps You’ll get through it 100 Attempts My March Challenge Becoming a Streamer Make your story (and marketing) rhyme What I want to do around here On Canoeing Reader Error The Continuum of Long Term Listen for the music Imposter Syndrome 21/ Tiny Notes Notes on “The Calculus of Grit” Tea Time Log Jams and the Creativity Faucet