|||

Script Frenzy

Script Frenzy is looking for someone to do 20,000 words. I am at 3779 words at the moment and starting page 20. So they are asking for 100 pages. That’s fairly easy, especially since you don’t really need much of a plan. That’s only 3 1/3 pages a day. I find I can do an easy 4 pages in about an hour.

We always impose these fears on ourselves when it is actually quite easy to write. The trouble is that we want to write perfectly, right off the start and that is next to impossible.

I blocked myself for the last four months because I was trying to write perfectly on a second draft.

That’s why I am loving the Peter Elbow Challenge: Write the script four times, almost allowing for a shitty first, second, and third draft.

There is another version that I might take up from his book Writing Without Teachers” (Writers: Have you bought this book yet?) that he calls Desperation Writing.

You write and keep writing. Then you go through it and find all the assertions, thoughts, feelings, images, or events/plot points (my addition) that come out of it and write it on a 3x5 card. Accept all of it and don’t waste your time struggling with it. Then just shuffle through them, over and over, finding patterns, dropping them into piles. Then, gather each pile into one assertion and write it out all over again. Do this over and over again.

The beauty of this is that you don’t think in your head. You think on the page and most importantly, you are writing.

(Originally posted on 8secondsofawesome.com.)

Up next The Peter Elbow Challenge Peter Elbow discusses in “Writing Without Teachers” the developmental model on the writing process. His thought is to write it four times, not once, My solution to any problem Kate: Our fridge is dying. It’s now making a whirring, buzzing sound. David: Have you kicked it? (Sound of kicking) Kate: Nope. Didn’t work
Latest posts Dealing with the Jealousy Alarm Why the new stories lately? Mud Pot “What the hell is going on?” 24/ Where I’ve been Creation, not consumption Getting Older and Slower Coming back to work 23/ Stretched thin and moving forward The Rule of Threes, Conflict, and Starting Your Story 22/ Blogging is my Hobby More than One Want Old Posts Why is this particular character on this journey? Breaking the Website, Breaking the Book Story Maps You’ll get through it 100 Attempts My March Challenge Becoming a Streamer Make your story (and marketing) rhyme What I want to do around here On Canoeing Reader Error The Continuum of Long Term Listen for the music Imposter Syndrome 21/ Tiny Notes Notes on “The Calculus of Grit” Tea Time Log Jams and the Creativity Faucet