|||

Austin Kleon

Doubling up on the notion of the blog as a place to learn was a recent article from Austin Kleon (another person who blogs regularly), this article from him has continued to resonate with me.

I also like the quote he shares from Ali Abdaal:

It’s the difference between saying I’m an expert and I’m going to teach you something’, and saying I’m a fellow student and I’m going to share what I’ve learnt and maybe you can take something from this.’

Often, when I teach, I learn as well. I have to know the information and understand it enough to feed it back to the students. I know there is some science behind this—I’m sure I read it at one time—that teaching helps build those neural paths.

Kleon also brings up Rob Walker’s piece How Nick Quah Became the Podcast Whisperer”:

Quah’s actual qualifications for taking on the role of public thinker on podcasting were nil. He’d never made a podcast, had no background in radio or audio media of any kind.

Both Seth Godin and Jordan Harbinger considered the question of teaching versus qualifications.

Up next What was Daily Marginalia? David from the future: David’s Daily Marginalia (also called David’s Daily Journal) is now defunct. See the 20/ New Directions newsletter for more Cory Doctorow and Daily Links Ever since I read about Roam and keeping a garden of ideas, I have been trying to figure out what that looks like for me. I don’t want to dump
Latest posts Dealing with the Jealousy Alarm Why the new stories lately? Mud Pot “What the hell is going on?” 24/ Where I’ve been Creation, not consumption Getting Older and Slower Coming back to work 23/ Stretched thin and moving forward The Rule of Threes, Conflict, and Starting Your Story 22/ Blogging is my Hobby More than One Want Old Posts Why is this particular character on this journey? Breaking the Website, Breaking the Book Story Maps You’ll get through it 100 Attempts My March Challenge Becoming a Streamer Make your story (and marketing) rhyme What I want to do around here On Canoeing Reader Error The Continuum of Long Term Listen for the music Imposter Syndrome 21/ Tiny Notes Notes on “The Calculus of Grit” Tea Time Log Jams and the Creativity Faucet