|||

4 Day Challenge - Day 1

Today I started the 4 day challenge. My goal is to write the first draft of a 120 page script in 4 days. I ended at page 25 today. When I originally planned this, it was to be a 3 day intense schedule because I thought the house was empty for the entire day. Once I found out that it wasn’t, I re-designed it for a four day period or a total of 24 hours.

I seem to average 5 pages an hour, with a process of writing for 15 minutes, then taking a break for 5, and repeating this until I run out of time. Even when the juices are flowing, I force myself away from the keyboard after 15 minutes and find that when I return I have a fresh perspective on things. My 5 minute in-between time is spent cleaning, doing some quick exercises, or anything else that takes me physically and mentally away from the work.

The best thing about this is that I don’t burn out. I used to do a maximum of 2 hours and my first sprint lasted 3 hours until I had to take a break because my solitude was interrupted by lunchtime.

I realized in the process today that the purpose of a first draft for me is to get the idea of the scene down, defining it as best as I possibly can. When I come back for the rewrite, I shouldn’t read the surface of the scene but I must find the idea, draw it out, and revise it based on that.

I expect tomorrow to take me just over the 60 page hump.

Up next 4 Day Challenge - Day 1 Today I started the 4 day challenge. My goal is to write the first draft of a 120 page script in 4 days. I ended at page 25 today. When I originally The 4 Day Challenge - Day 2 - Page 45 I fell behind in the writing yesterday. I had a 2 extra hours but wrote only 20 pages, which amounts to 3 1/3 pages per hour. I knew I was going to
Latest posts Dealing with the Jealousy Alarm Why the new stories lately? Mud Pot “What the hell is going on?” 24/ Where I’ve been Creation, not consumption Getting Older and Slower Coming back to work 23/ Stretched thin and moving forward The Rule of Threes, Conflict, and Starting Your Story 22/ Blogging is my Hobby More than One Want Old Posts Why is this particular character on this journey? Breaking the Website, Breaking the Book Story Maps You’ll get through it 100 Attempts My March Challenge Becoming a Streamer Make your story (and marketing) rhyme What I want to do around here On Canoeing Reader Error The Continuum of Long Term Listen for the music Imposter Syndrome 21/ Tiny Notes Notes on “The Calculus of Grit” Tea Time Log Jams and the Creativity Faucet